Halloween in Salzburg
Photo: HOSI Salzburg

Queer Halloween

Salzburg is not Haddonfield (USA), where John Carpenter filmed the horror classic “Halloween – the Night of Horror” in 1978. But you can get a taste of it on 31.10.2021 at the HOSI Salzburg.

“Halloween – the Night of Horror” was the starting signal for slasher films in the 1980s and 90s, which mostly depicted the centuries-old tradition of the eve of All Saints’ Day (1.11), the commemoration of the dead, in a bloodthirsty way. The Halloween tradition dates back to the 10th century, mostly celebrated in Anglo-Saxon countries, and is ultimately historically rooted in church history. It is about remembering the dead. Modern Halloween has spread to us via the USA. Also to Salzburg.

Interestingly, for several years now, it has been the “Junge HOSI” (Young HOSI) that has devoted itself to this morbid festival. “It takes at least a week of preparation,” says Katharina from the HOSI Salzburg in the HOSI office. Spider webs want to be created, skulls and pumpkins have to be worked on. In Celtic history, Halloween also stands for the end of summer. And the pumpkin is pretty much the last summer fruit to be harvested.

Witches, vampires and zombies

Ghosts shudder from the ceiling, shrouded in the mist of the eponymous machine. Witches, vampires and zombies make the HOSI Salzburg unsafe, grim reapers scare people – the dead remember in a creepy way. The best costumes will be awarded a prize. And with a welcome shot it might be easier to slip into another role. The HOSI is giving one away.

So you can remember the dead in a creepy atmosphere and rejoice that we are alive – queer and proud!

31.10.2021 8 pm Queer Halloween Party at the HOSI Salzburg.

Published 15. October 2021Updated 17. October 2021
Advertising
Also interesting!

Tanto ... Tango!

Power and tenderness is tango – in ten performances at the Salzburg Landestheater (State Theatre) until May 2022. The dancers of the Salzburg Ballet Ensemble will devote themselves to the "dance of dances" with passion and offer an exciting dance experience at the Salzburg Landestheater. [Read more]

9 months Salzburg

The new Salzburg Gay Guide went to press yesterday (29.07.). On 68 pages, this edition presents scene highlights and cultural highlights in Salzburg in the next 9 months until April 2022. However the pandemic will develop – Salzburg is worth a trip under almost any circumstances. Read all about it in the new Salzburg Gay Guide. [Read more]

Autumn is here!

We have just recovered from the extremely successful Salzburg Pride 2021, and autumn is here! Salzburg is also worth a visit in the coming weeks. Jazz festival, tango ballet, winter festival are just three of many events that make the darker season more pleasant. And from 18 November it's gingerbread and speculoos olé. [Read more]

Halloween in Salzburg
Foto: HOSI Salzburg

Queer Halloween

Salzburg ist zwar nicht Haddonfield (USA), wo 1978 von John Carpenter der Horror-Klassiker „Halloween – die Nacht des Grauens“ gedreht wurde. Eine Ahnung davon kann man aber am 31.10.2021 in der HOSI Salzburg bekommen.

„Halloween – die Nacht des Grauens“ war Startschuss für Slasherfilme in den 1980er und 90er Jahren, die die Jahrhunderte alte Tradition des Vorabends von Allerheiligen (1.11), dem Gedenken an die Toten, meist blutrünstig darstellten. Die Halloween-Tradition geht bis ins 10. Jahrhundert zurück, meist gefeiert in angelsächsischen Ländern und ist historisch letztlich in der Kirchengeschichte verankert. Es geht um das Gedenken der Toten. Über die USA hat sich das moderne Halloween bis zu uns verbreitet. Auch nach Salzburg.

Seit mehreren Jahren ist es interessanterweise die „Junge HOSI“, die sich diesem morbiden Fest mit Hingabe widmet. „Eine Woche Vorbereitungszeit braucht es mindestens“, so Katharina von der HOSI Salzburg im HOSI-Büro. Spinnennetze wollen kreiert werden, Totenköpfe und Kürbisse müssen bearbeitet werden. In der keltischen Geschichte steht Halloween auch für das Ende des Sommers. Und der Kürbis ist ziemlich die letzte Sommerfrucht, die geerntet wird.

Hexen, Vampire und Zombies

Geister schauern von der Decke, umwabert vom Nebel der gleichnamigen Maschine. Hexen, Vampire und Zombies machen die HOSI Salzburg unsicher, Sensenmänner jagen Angst ein – die Toten bringen sich auf gruselige Art in Erinnerung. Wer das am besten rüberbringt kann sich über einen Preis freuen. Die besten Kostüme werden prämiert. Und mit einem Welcome-Shot lässt sich vielleicht leichter in eine andere Rolle schlüpfen. Die HOSI gibt einen aus.

So kann man in gruseliger Atmosphäre den Toten gedenken und sich darüber freuen, dass wir am Leben sind – queer und stolz!

31.10.2021 20 Uhr Queere Halloween-Party in der HOSI Salzburg.

Veröffentlicht 15. Oktober 2021Aktualisiert 17. Oktober 2021
Werbung
Auch interessant!

Der Herbst ist da!

Gerade haben wir uns vom überaus erfolgreichen CSD Salzburg 2021 erholt, da ist der Herbst da! Auch in den nächsten Wochen ist Salzburg eine Reise wert. Jazzfestival, Tangoballett, Winterfest sind nur drei Events von vielen, die die dunkler werdende Jahreszeit angenehmer machen. Und ab dem 18. November heißt es: Lebkuchen und Spekulatius olé. [Weiterlesen]

Tanto ... Tango!

Kraft und Zärtlichkeit ist Tango – in zehn Aufführungen im Salzburger Landestheater bis Mai 2022. Die Tänzerinnen und Tänzer des Salzburger Ballettensembles werden sich dem „Tanz der Tänze“ mit Leidenschaft widmen und ein spannendes Tanzerlebnis im Salzburger Landestheater bieten. [Weiterlesen]

9 Monate Salzburg

Der neue Salzburg Gay Guide ist gestern (29.07.) in Druck gegangen. Auf 68 Seiten präsentiert diese Ausgabe Szenehighlights und kulturelle Höhepunkte in Salzburg in den nächsten 9 Monaten bis April 2022. Wie immer sich die Pandemie entwickeln wird – Salzburg ist unter fast allen Umständen eine Reise wert. Alles dazu im neuen Salzburg Gay Guide. [Weiterlesen]