Salzburg Pride

Do not give up!

Despite all the joy about the record turnout at this year’s Salzburg Pride, it should not be forgotten that there were also unpleasant things afterwards: Homophobic attacks directly after the parade. And not only in Salzburg but all over Austria. For quite some time.

Immediately at the end of the Salzburg Pride (5.09.2021), there were increasing reports of homophobic assaults on parade participants throughout Austria. And also in the weeks after the event, the news about homophobic aggression did not stop. Almost daily, the media report about physical attacks on allegedly homosexual people, verbal insults or graffitied and destroyed rainbow-coloured park benches all over the country. It seems that the more enlightened one part of society is, the more violent the reaction of the social group that has grown up with the methods of black pedagogy and derives its raison d’être from a deep frustration, ultimately with itself.

Rules of etiquette for the Pride

There is definitely no question of an extroverted display of deviating forms of sexuality from heteronormativity at this year’s Salzburg Pride. Just as it was the case in Berlin, Hamburg or elsewhere and led to the very strange discussion about the exclusion of the leather and fetish community at the Bremen Pride this year. The Salzburg Pride this year was a powerful sign of the presence of the rainbow community in society. A big colourful celebration of all the colours of the rainbow, with twice as many participants as last year. And without any cause for conservative-critical reflection.

Against the backdrop of the aggressive behaviour of reactionary forces described above, it is more necessary than ever that the LGBT community stands together and remembers the message of its ancestors from New York’s Christopher Street – and shows presence. It is a good sign how many people stood on the street at this year’s Salzburg Pride, waved and let themselves be infected by solidarity and good humour. And it is a good sign that the Greens andersrum, the LGBT group of the Austrian Greens, have elected a new leadership duo. Among them Klaus Horvat-Unterdorfer, the organiser of the Salzburg Pride. There are enough issues that are worth fighting for. And what we take to the streets for every year. Do not give up!

Published 20. September 2021Updated 5. October 2021
Advertising
Also interesting!

Back in New York

Roman Forisch, a native of Salzburg and certified Austria Guide, tells the story of how the Pride Boat of the HOSI Salzburg came into being, back in New York. “On June 28, 1969, early in the morning at 1:20 a.m., a police raid was conducted at the Stonewall Inn in […] [Read more]

Marsha and Sylvia

The much under-recognized heroines of Stonewall were Marsha P. Johnson and Sylvia Rivera. Johnson was an African-American transgender woman and LGBTQ activist, and was particularly vocal about her support for trans people of color. Johnson was a regular guest at the Stonewall Inn in 1969, along with Sylvia Rivera. [Read more]

That was the Salzburg Pride 2021

Last weekend (3-5.09.) Salzburg was under the sign of the rainbow. From Friday evening to Sunday afternoon, more people than ever came together to underline the demands of the LGBT community for acceptance in all areas of society. And to celebrate this political statement. Love was in the Air! [Read more]

Csd Salzburg

Do not give up!

Bei aller Freude über die Rekordbeteiligung beim diesjährigen CSD Salzburg darf nicht vergessen werden, dass es auch Unerfreuliches im Nachhinein gab: Homophobe Übergriffe direkt im Anschluss an die Parade. Und das nicht nur in Salzburg sondern ganz Österreich. Seit geraumer Zeit.

Unmittelbar zum Ende des CSD Salzburg (5.09.2021) gab es in ganz Österreich vermehrt Meldungen über homophobe tätliche Übergriffe auf Paradenteilnehmer. Und auch in den Wochen danach reißen die Nachrichten über homphobe Aggression nicht ab. Fast täglich berichten die Medien über körperliche Angriffe auf vermeintlich homosexuelle Menschen, verbale Beleidigungen oder beschmierte und zerstörte regenbogenfarbene Parkbänke im ganzen Land. Es scheint, je aufgeklärter der eine Teil der Gesellschaft ist, umso heftiger wird die Reaktion der gesellschaftlichen Gruppe, die mit den Methoden der schwarzen Pädagogik groß geworden ist und ihre Daseinsberechtigung aus einem tiefen Frust, letztlich über sich selbst bezieht.

Benimmregeln zum CSD

Dabei kann von extrovertierter Zurschaustellung von abweichenden Formen der Sexualität von der Heteronormativität beim diesjährigen Salzburger CSD definitiv keine Rede sein. So wie es durchaus in Berlin, Hamburg oder anderswo schon der Fall war und zu der sehr merkwürdigen Diskussion um den Ausschluss der Leder- und Fetischcommunity beim Bremer CSD in diesem Jahr führte. Der Salzburger CSD in diesem Jahr war ein kraftvolles Zeichen der Präsenz der Regenbogencommunity in der Gesellschaft. Ein großes buntes Fest aller Farben des Regenbogens, mit doppelt so vielen Teilnehmern wie im letzten Jahr. Und ohne jeglichen Anlass für konservativ-kritische Betrachtung.

Vor dem Hintergrund des oben beschriebenen aggressiven Verhaltens reaktionärer Kräfte ist es nötiger denn je, dass die LGBT-Community zusammensteht und sich an die Botschaft ihrer Vorfahren aus der New Yorker Christopher Street erinnert – und Präsenz zeigt. Es ist ein gutes Zeichen, wieviele Menschen beim diesjährigen CSD Salzburg an der Straße gestanden haben, gewinkt haben und sich von Solidarität und guter Laune haben anstecken lassen. Und es ist es ein gutes Zeichen, dass die Grünen andersrum, die LGBT-Gruppierung der österreichischen Grünen, ein neues Führungsduo gewählt haben. Darunter Klaus Horvat-Unterdorfer, den Organisator des Salzburger CSD. Es gibt genug Themen, für die es sich zu kämpfen lohnt. Und wofür wir jedes Jahr auf die Straße gehen. Do not give up!

Veröffentlicht 20. September 2021Aktualisiert 5. Oktober 2021
Werbung
Auch interessant!

Das war der CSD Salzburg 2021

Letztes Wochenende (3.-5.09.) stand Salzburg im Zeichen des Regenbogens. Von Freitag Abend bis Sonntag Nachmittag kamen so viele Menschen wie nie zusammen, um die Forderungen der LGBT-Community nach Akzeptanz in allen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen zu unterstreichen. Und um dieses politische statement zu feiern. Love was in the Air! [Weiterlesen]

Marsha und Sylvia

Die viel zu wenig beachteten Heldinnen von Stonewall waren Marsha P. Johnson und Sylvia Rivera. Johnson war eine afro-amerikanische Transgenderfrau und LGBTQ-Aktivistin und machte sich vor allem stark für farbige Transmenschen. Johnson war 1969 zusammen mit Sylvia Rivera regelmäßiger Gast im Stonewall Inn. [Weiterlesen]

Damals in New York

Roman Forisch, gebürtiger Salzburger und zertifizierter Austria Guide erzählt die Entstehungsgeschichte des Pride Boat der HOSI Salzburg, damals in New York. „Am 28. Juni 1969 frühmorgens um 1.20 Uhr wurde im Stonewall Inn in New York eine Polizeirazzia durchgeführt. Ziel waren die in der beliebten Szenebar um den Tod der […] [Weiterlesen]